I DO NOT HAVE TO BE NICE.

Say it with me now.

I DO NOT HAVE TO BE NICE.

I can be things, I am smart, funny, sassy, successful, kind, sweet, nice, angry, stubborn, etc. BUT I don’t have to be them and most specifically I do not have to be nice.

Recently I keep getting told to be nice. I don’t know how you tell a grown 30+ woman how to be nice and not sound patronizing but for some reason people seem to think this its OK. When we disagree and you insult me, I do not have to be nice, when you refuse to do your job, I do not have to be nice.

I can be empathetic, I can be understanding and at times this may allow me to decide that you deserve nice, that you should be subject to kindness. But I don’t have to be.

So to the contractors that work for me, for the realtors that work for me, for the employees that actually work for me, to my peers who disagree with me, to the CEO who is being not their best, to my local elected officials…I do not have to be nice to you. So when you don’t listen to your constituents, when you don’t show up to do a job, when you say to a 13 year old girl a child marriage law is cool because the 1800’s said so…no I do not have to be nice.

So please consider this the overly eager optimist and all those like her who have been too nice for too long putting you on notice.

NICE, is no longer happening over here. I’m coming for you.

 

Leave a Reply

